I just spent 3 hours working through chapter one of a beta readers manuscript and i’m not even finished yet. I’d love to get a chance to redo this read once they’ve edited and see how my comments work or don’t work. As often is the case it’s more likely to be don’t work.

My number 1 fear when swapping chapters is the quality and time swap not just the swap in paper. Will my 3 hours be returned by 3 hours of their time or a simply quick scan? It is a risk anyone takes when working through edits with help from others. even when i’ve swapped with friends and family and said ‘give me your best shot’ i often get a whole manuscript that’s been read and a simply paragraph ‘watch your spelling’…

But then on the other end of the scale i have my horrific ordeal with a forum where i said ‘go mad’ and got told i was mad.

Why can’t there be a most holy of sources where we take our work and receive complete accurate and usable feedback?

I don’t know if anyone else notices this but most often the sentence you changed on person A’s suggestion will be ripped to shreds by person B and so you change it again and person C claim’s it’s needs to be cut completely so you do then person XYZ says ‘why don’t you explain this?’ and all you want to do is scream ‘I did, about 26 readers ago it was exactly like that!’

I hate comments like ‘this is useless’ why? is it repetitious? is it vague? is it a side note? please tell me why because i think it’s fine or i wouldn’t have put it there.

Anyway always happy to swap a few chapters, leave a comment if you want to share your experiences.

