I’ve sent things in to these guys before, they run some ‘pie in the sky’ competitions that – if you win – get you time one on one with editors and paid weeks at the writers house and all sorts of amazing things to help you polish your manuscript and develop it. The only reason i call them ‘pie in the sky’ competitions is because they do a lot of getting ones hopes up and still aim to pick only the best of the best. Sad when your competing to improve.

However they do seem to have the closest forum to me…

And i do love the blue mountains…

But Katoomba – the town holds some old nightmares for me, i’m not sure how i will feel walking through the area on my own, not knowing anyone or even knowing if this is the type of event.

Driving that distance on my own would be a bit much for me, according to google the road trip would be just over 5 hours and right through the guts of Sydney but if i take trains and buses i’ll leave home at 6.30am and not get there until after 4.30pm. Thats almost double the trip! It’s a whole day sitting on my butt only to sit on my butt at a forum then sit on my butt all the way home again. I have to take 3 days off work and so on…

I want to go but for the effort and the $$$ and the distance i might as well jump on a plane and head to the big conferences in Brisbane and Melbourn – if only they weren’t on as we speak 😦

The more i look into it the more i just want ot wait until next year…

